UNVEILING OF MISE ÉIRE Sunday 1 October, 2017

1.30 Assembly of the various marching groups at the Lower GAA Pitch

1.45 Parade forms up in following order –
1 Colour Party, 2  Band, 3  Oulart-National Pike Group, 4   Monageer Group 5  Bill Murray Group,   6   Kilmuckridge Group,  7  Ray Murphy Group, and Rod Dennison’s Dublin Brigade Irish Volunteers History Group Band.

2.00  Parade sets off from Lower GAA Pitch

2.15 An overture selection by 16 young musicians of St. Mochua’s National School

2.25 Chairman John Dempsey opens formal proceedings.

2.30  Inter-denominational Blessing: Fr. Paddy Browne P.P. and Revd Bob Gray, Archdeacon and Rector of Ardamine Group of Parishes including Kilnamanagh accompanied by an tAthair Séamus S . De Val.

2.35  Mary Prendergast, curator of Leabhar an Abhalloirt for the past fifteen years will pass the quill to Bridget O’Toole who will continue the work. In years to come Bridget will pass it on again to her successor and so, it is hoped, it will pass down the generations recording major events in the lives of the people of Oulart

2.40  Brian Ó Cléirigh will interpret his design for Mise Éire

2.45  Mary Ellen McClure will recite MISE ÉIRE with accompaniment.

2.50  Barbara Anne Murphy, Leas-Chathaoirleach, Wexford Co. Council, will invite Michael de Lacy (89) and Laurence de Lacy (91) to unveil the bronze plaques followed by a short address by Michael de Lacy.

3.00 Main Address from Barbara Anne Murphy.

3.10  Breda Jacob will read the 1916 Proclamation.

3.20  The Last Post sounded by Sergeant Ray Kelleher, Band 1 Brigade, Cork.

The Colour Party departs and the National Flag will be raised from Half-Mast.

The Reveille played by Sergeant Ray Kelleher, Band 1 Brigade, Cork.

3.25   Jimmy Cooper of the Ballindaggin Pipe Band will play a lament.
The Ballindaggin Pipe Band will play Amhrán na bhFiann.

3.30 Refreshments for all in Community Centre.

You may also like...