Unyoke Walk to mark Wexford Day 2014
Next Saturday, 21 June, has been designated Wexford Day. It’s high summer; longest day of the year; Vinegar Hill’s anniversary, and a chance to do the guided Unyoke Historical Walk from the hamlet of the Unyoke to Oulart Hill, site of the world’s biggest and most nuanced monument to 1798, Tulach a’ tSolais , the focus of the developing Oulart Hill 1798 Battlefield Walking Hub. With help from Wexford Local Development Ltd., the route is now enhanced with twenty newly-installed inscribed stones recalling people and events of 1798 and the changing destinies of Ballinamonabeg and Lower Oulart. The stones, in modern Gaelic typeface by Gaelchló.com, give a neglected Irish flavour to the walk and allow the landscape tell its own unique story to the passerby.
Come and see the Abhallann [apple arboretum] celebrating the local name of Oulart [orchard] with its stands of native Irish apples of long ago including the Wexford Lough apple. Be guided through the ancient varieties by well known horticulturalist John Joe Hyland of Hyland Nurseries of Oulart.
Home by magnificent vintage machines
The eleven km. walk kicks off at 9.30 a.m. from the Trading Post Camper Park in the Unyoke on the N741 reaching Oulart Hill around 12.30 p.m. The walk will be guided by competent local historians and walkers will be transported back from Oulart Hill to the Unyoke in their magnificent vintage machines by generous volunteers of the Over The Water Vintage Club. Loch Garman, Beir Bua!